London Borough of Barnet

Parks, sport and leisure news

Residents encouraged to Adopt a Place

Published on Tuesday 1 April 2014

Barnet residents now have the opportunity to have a greater impact on almost every public space in their community, thanks to a revamp of the Adopt a place initiative.

Council to replace storm damaged trees

Published on Friday 7 February 2014

Hundreds of trees damaged during recent storms are to be replaced by Barnet Council.

Council plans for more outdoor gyms

Published on Friday 22 November 2013

Barnet Council is proposing new plans to improve health and fitness facilities in the borough’s parks.

Highlands Gardens’ makeover complete

Published on Friday 15 November 2013

A Community group is celebrating the completion of renovation works at Highlands Gardens in New Barnet.

Residents take charge and ‘adopt’ their street

Published on Monday 11 November 2013

Friary Road residents in Barnet have come together to ‘adopt’ their street.

Victoria Park set to get even greener

Published on Wednesday 6 November 2013

A Barnet community group has raised funds to plant an array of trees at Victoria Park.

Storm damage causes busy night for council staff

Published on Monday 28 October 2013

Highways and street scene staff have had a busy night dealing with reports of localised flooding and fallen trees in the aftermath of last night’s storm.

Help us create a sporting vision for Barnet

Published on Wednesday 16 October 2013

Residents are being invited to add their voice to Barnet’s new Sports and Physical Activity (SPA) Review.

Barnet Council grants £200,000 to community groups for parks improvements

Published on Wednesday 21 August 2013

Barnet Council has teamed up with four residents’ groups to help improve local parks and open spaces across the borough.

Have fun in Barnet’s Parks this summertime.

Published on Monday 29 July 2013

The school summer holidays are finally here, so why not take advantage of one of Barnet’s many parks and open spaces.

Barnet women encouraged to get on their bikes

Published on Friday 5 April 2013

British Cycling, the national governing body for cycling, is encouraging more women in Barnet to get on their bikes.

Barnet residents welcome ‘Pocket Park’ funding

Published on Tuesday 19 March 2013

Residents have welcomed news that a Cricklewood play area is to become one of London’s first ‘Pocket Parks’.

Barnet Girls Set for Lord's

Published on Monday 11 February 2013

Barnet girls have booked a date at the home of cricket after winning through to the Balfour Beatty London Youth Games Indoor Cricket Finals which take place on Sunday 3 March.

New Music Hub status opens doors for new funding

Published on Thursday 18 October 2012

Barnet Council’s Cabinet Resources Committee last night approved the transfer of the council’s music service into a new stand alone entity.

  • Directories