London Borough of Barnet

UK Youth Parliament Election Results

Published Tuesday 13 March 2012

Barnet’s new UK Youth Parliament Members and Deputy Members were announced at a special results evening held at the North London Business Park last night.

Councillor Andrew Harper, Cabinet Member for Education, Children and Families announced Nadine Jerashy, 15, (The Compton) and Sogand Shaker, 17, (Dame Alice Owen) as the election winners on Tuesday 21 February.

A member of the Barnet Youth Board presented Temi Mwale, 16, (London Academy) and Nicholas Lucas, 17, (St Michael’s Catholic Grammar) as Barnet’s Deputy Members of Youth Parliament.

All four will take part in London region and national UKYP activities during the year as well as working with Barnet Youth Board to represent local young people.

31 young people stood for election, and there were over 8000 votes cast by Barnet’s young people, which is around a 24% voter turnout. This is the second time Barnet has taken part in the UKYP elections.

The UKYP was established in 2000 and is run by young people for young people, giving them the opportunity to share their opinions on a range of issues ranging from the cost of university education to job opportunities and war.

The Democracy Award for Schools was also presented at the event by Jay Mercer, Deputy Director of Children’s Service. First place went to St Michael’s Catholic Grammar, second place to The Compton and third place to Ashmole Academy.

Cabinet Member for Education, Children and Families, Councillor Andrew Harper, said: “The UK Youth Parliament gives our younger residents an opportunity to take a leading role in their local community and make their voices heard.

“I look forward to working closely with our two new members and their deputies and I hope they will find the experience as rewarding as last year’s MYPs.”

Contact Press Officer: Sue Cocker