Loading, please wait

Town Centres

  • Regeneration

About Town Centres

Barnet is committed to supporting economic success across the borough. In the light of national trends like increasing use of internet shopping, reduced footfall in town centres and a growing population, Barnet Council set out an approach to supporting all town centres in its Entrepreneurial Barnet Strategy.

Barnet has 30 town centres which come in all shapes and sizes and play different roles in the wider community.

To reflect this, we have categorised them into:

Our seven main town centres

You can view a map of the seven main town centres here.

Our eight district centres

  • Brent Street
  • Colindale/The Hyde
  • East Finchley
  • Hendon Central
  • Mill Hill
  • New Barnet
  • Temple Fortune
  • Whetstone

Our 15 local and neighbourhood centres

  • Apex Corner
  • Childs Hill
  • Colney Hatch Lane
  • Deansbrook Road
  • East Barnet
  • Friern Barnet
  • Golders Green Road
  • Grahame Park
  • Great North Road, New Barnet
  • Hale Lane
  • Hampden Square
  • Holders Hill Circus
  • Market Place
  • New Southgate
  • West Hendon

We want to support communities and businesses in all town centres, although we will work with different town centres in different ways.

For instance, we encourage smaller local and district centres to take more responsibility for driving local improvements themselves, while main centres can expect to see a greater level of support, reflecting the larger number of jobs and businesses they accommodate.

To find out more about our work to support and improve our town centres, visit the Town Centre Offer page.


  • Regeneration Service
  • Barnet House
    1255 High Road
    Whetstone London N20 0EJ
  • Tel: 020 8359 7248
  • Email: regeneration@barnet.gov.uk

Rate this page