Loading, please wait

Appeals for community schools

  • Schools and education

If your child hasn't got an offer for a place at a Barnet community school of your choice, this is because the school is already full or there are more children who want to go to the school than the number of places available.

Barnet Council has set out a list of admission criteria, to decide which children will get places at community schools that do not have enough places for all those who apply. These schools have waiting lists and your child’s name will automatically be added to the waiting list if an offer cannot be made.

You have the right to appeal to an independent appeals panel against the decision not to offer your child a place at a school of your choice.  Although each appeal is decided on individual merit, only exceptional circumstances are likely to lead to a successful appeal. Your appeal is unlikely to be allowed if you are appealing on the grounds of a school’s academic performance or Osfted report, home-to-school distance or personal preference.

Appeals for places at Barnet community schools are arranged by Barnet Council. Appeal hearings for community schools take place at Hendon Town Hall.

You should be notified of the outcome of your appeal approximately three weeks after submitting your appeal form. Appeal hearings are held every few weeks throughout the academic year (term-time only) and your hearing will take place within 30 school days of an appeal being lodged.

Appealing for an infant class place (Reception to Year Two)

Infant class appeals are particularly difficult to win because, apart from a few limited exceptions, it is against the law for children to be taught in classes of more than 30.  An appeal panel can only allow an appeal if it is satisfied that, either:

  1. the admission authority made a mistake which led to a place being denied, or
  2. the decision to refuse admission was unreasonable.

Understandably many parents believe that the decision not to offer their child a place was unreasonable. However, the grounds for upholding a Reception class appeal are so limited, the percentage of successful appeals is extremely low, less than 2% last year.  Personal reasons for wanting a place at a school cannot be taken into account unless conditions 'a' or 'b' as stated above apply.

Online Appeal Form - Admission to Community School Infant Class

Appealing for a place in Year 3 to Year 6 at a community primary school and Years 7 to 11 at Friern Barnet School

Online Appeal Form - In-year Admission to Community Schools Year 3 to 11

Schedule for the appeal hearings (dates are subject to change).

  • Monday 10 September 2018
  • Tuesday 18 September 2018
  • Thursday 27 September 2018
  • Wednesday 3 October 2018
  • Wednesday 17 October 2018
  • Wednesday 31 October 2018
  • Tuesday 6 November 2018
  • Wednesday 14 November 2018
  • Thursday 29 November 2018
  • Wednesday 5 December 2018
  • Wednesday 12 December 2018
  • Thursday 20 December 2018
  • Wednesday 9 January 2019
  • Wednesday 16 January 2019
  • Wednesday 30 January 2019
  • Thursday 7 February 2019
  • Wednesday 13 February 2019
  • Wednesday 27 February 2019
  • Monday 11 March 2019
  • Wednesday 20 March 2019
  • Friday 29 March 2019
  • Tuesday 2 April 2019
  • Wednesday 24 April 2019
  • Tuesday 30 April 2019
  • Wednesday 8 May 2019
  • Thursday 16 May 2019
  • Thursday 23 May 2019
  • Wednesday 5 June 2019
  • Thursday 13 June 2019
  • Wednesday 26 June 2019
  • Wednesday 3 July 2019
  • Thursday 11 July 2019
  • Wednesday 17 July 2019

If you want to appeal for a place at a voluntary aided school, foundation school, free school or academy please contact the school directly for further information.  Contact details may be found on the schools directory.

 

Contacts

  • School admissions
  • Building 4
    North London Business Park
    Oakleigh Road South
    New Southgate
    N11 1NP
  •  
  • Tel: 020 8359 7651
  • FAX: 0870 889 6799

Rate this page