Skip to content

Electoral review of Barnet ward boundaries

The Local Government Boundary Commission (LGBCE) for England is currently reviewing the electoral arrangement in the London Borough of Barnet. The review will draw new council ward boundaries across Barnet to make sure each councillor represents an equal number of voters.

LGBCE draft recommendations report for the London Borough of Barnet

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has published its draft recommendations for the new electoral arrangement for the London Borough of Barnet.

The Commission has considered all the submissions it received in the previous stages of the review before drawing up the draft recommendations. It has sought to balance the criteria it follows when drawing up recommendations, including:

  • To deliver electoral equality where each borough councillor represents roughly the same number of electors as others across the borough.
  • That the pattern of wards should, as far as possible, reflect the interests and identities of local communities.
  • That the electoral arrangements should provide for effective and convenient local government.

The LGBCE draft recommendations propose that:

  • Barnet’s council size remains at 63 councillors - as at present. 
  • Barnet should move to having 25 wards - four more than there are now. 
  • The 63 Councillors will represent; 14 three-councillor wards, 10 two-councillor wards and 1 one-councillor ward
  • The boundaries of all wards should change, none will stay the same. 

The full draft recommendations on the new electoral arrangements for Barnet Council can be found on the LGBCE website.

Have your say

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England asked for views on their proposed new electoral arrangements for Barnet Council. This part of the LGBCE consultation closed on 24 June 2019.  

Rate this page?