My Account - Terms and conditions
By registering for My Account you agree:
- To keep your username and password secure.
- Not to share your username or password with anyone else.
- To change your password at regular intervals.
- To tell us if any of the information we hold about you or the address at which you pay Council Tax is incorrect or incomplete.
- Barnet Council is not liable for any loss suffered by you as a result of you sharing or losing your username or password.
- If you suspect your account has been compromised, you should close it immediately and apply for a new one.
- Although we take steps to ensure our websites and links are virus-free, you are advised to ensure that you have adequate anti-virus protection on your computer.
- Access to the service may sometimes be unavailable due to maintenance, and can also be affected by your service provider, your network connection, and your computer. If you experience connection difficulties you should retry accessing the service.
- Payments made through the Council’s online payment service will normally be credited to your account up to two business days after they are made. Please bear this in mind, and also check you are paying the right amount.
- Any deliberate attempt to gain access to information you are not authorised to see may contravene the Computer Misuse Act 1990 and / or the Data Protection Act 1998 and may incur criminal penalties.
- Accounts that contravene these terms and conditions may be closed without notice.
- We check and close inactive accounts routinely. We will advise you before your account is closed.
- If you close your account, this will not delete your records from our core service systems, so your data will still be held by the Council.